Nebraska Capitol photos by John Nollendorfs,

Matthew T. Schaefer

Matthew T. Schaefer joined Mueller Robak LLC as an associate in 2010.  Working with a broad range of clients on legislative issues and public policy matters, his practice focuses on government relations. Mr. Schaefer is a 2010 honors graduate of the University of Nebraska College of Law, where he was an executive editor of the Nebraska Law Review and a Theodore C. Sorensen Fellow.  Mr. Schaefer is one of two firm members who were elected President of the student body of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln while an undergraduate in college.  He currently serves his community by being a board member of Humanities Nebraska, Civic Nebraska, and his neighborhood association.  Mr. Schaefer was awarded the 40 under 40 Award by the Lincoln Young Professionals Group in 2013.

Admitted to Practice:

  • Nebraska Supreme Court, 2010
  • U. S. District for the District of Nebraska, 2010


  • University of Nebraska College of Law, J.D., with high distinction, 2010
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln, B.A., with high distinction, 2007

Awards and Distinctions:

  • Eagle Scout Award
  • University of Nebraska—Lincoln Student Body President
  • Innocent’s Society, University of Nebraska at Lincoln Chancellor’s Senior Honorary
  • Theodore C. Sorensen Fellow
  • CALI Award for Excellence, State and Local Government Law
  • CALI Award for Excellence, Individual Income Taxation
  • CALI Award for Excellence, Business Associations
  • The Order of the Coif, Honorary scholastic society recognizing law students who attained a high grade of scholarship
  • UNL Young Alumni Academy, Graduate
  • Lincoln Young Professionals Group Four Under Forty Award

Community Involvement:

  • Member, Humanities Nebraska Foundation Board
  • Secretary, Nebraskans for Civic Reform Board
  • President, Everett Neighborhood Association